RedwoodJs and React Native

Hi all,

I’m currently working on moving away from a MERN stack application and have come across Redwood. It looks like a fantastic option but my company is predominantly focused on React Native. After doing some research I stumbled across this github issue @redwoodjs/mobile package by pepicrft · Pull Request #1711 · redwoodjs/redwood · GitHub where @thedavid suggested I make a post here.

Im a mobile developer and happy to get my hands dirty but would like to hear from anyone else who has already spent significant time thinking about the problem. Ideally brainstorming out an RFC and breaking up into tasks so a proof of concept can be constructed should be next steps.

Cheers,
-Sean

5 Likes

I’ve thought about it a bit as I have an pretty big Redwood API which talks to a pretty complex Expo app. I put a bit of time into integrating Expo as a side once, before opting for a separate repo.

There’s quite a few sets of ‘parallel but different’ systems like the Redwood Router and RN Navigation’s navigation definitions or RNW vs the Redwood Web implementation which I am unsure if they can be reasonably reconciled without ceding too much control to make a quality app.

That said, the technique which has been knocking around in my head lately is that the redwood API could generate an npm module during builds, which the app can consume to get a manifest of all the important routes/queries/types/data models. This would act as the conduit for the ‘convention’ parts of Redwood.

Then a set of client-side components for bootstrapping consistent API clients etc can be added as something like @redwood/mobile lowering the barrier for communication between the different parts of the system.

7 Likes

Thanks for jumping in here @SeanDunford! This is outside my technical knowledge but hopefully I can connect some dots for folks here. Figuring out mobile integration is going to be a decent amount of upfront work.