Adopting Redwood for new projects

I’m an old school Python engineer (using Django for several projects) and have been spending the past few weeks playing with modern front-end approaches to make a switch for new projects (although I already use GraphQL for the APIs).

I have a side-project that I had just decided to start porting to Nextjs, but after going through your docs and vision for Redwoodjs, I’m tempted to use it instead. Great start, by the way!

I know you can’t answer that precisely, but being two months away from going to production, how risky would you feel it is to start writing code with Redwood Alpha right away?

It’s not a massive project, it currently generates low revenue, and I work on it almost as a hobby, although I have users all around the world. It has good chances of growing in size and audience in the next 12 months, so hence my question with the hope it can follow Redwoodjs and its growth. I will try and contribute as much as possible.

Thank you!

Something to consider is that not only is Redwood in alpha, but the DB library we’re relying on, Prisma2, is in alpha as well! They even have a site available to let you know it’s current production-ready status: https://www.isprisma2ready.com/

I’m pretty confident in saying that neither Redwood nor Prisma2 is going to be 1.0 in the next 2 months. We’ll be getting more stable all the time, but any release could break backwards compatibility at any moment, so even upgrading from say 0.1 to 0.2 could be a lot of manual work (update: 0.2.0 was a pretty minor update and was actually really easy!)

But if you don’t mind riding the bleeding edge and a little extra blood, sweat and tears, Redwood may be for you! :grinning:

3 Likes

I :heart: this question and want to fan the flame of your enthusiasm! (And a big fan of python myself.) But I also need to say you should proceed with slow, patient, cautious optimism. Agree with Rob here. Plus a few more thoughts.