Unable to open database file error on tutorial2

Hello everyone,
Quick newbie question with respect to tutorial2 (Prerequisites | Learn RedwoodJS). I got a clone of tutorial1 at GitHub - redwoodjs/redwood-tutorial: The end state after completing the RedwoodJS introduction tutorial and when I ran it, it gave an error related to toaster (which I fixed). When I run the yarn rw test command, I get a Response: Database error: Error querying the database: unable to open database file: /c/temp/redwood-tutorial/.redwood/test.db error.

What am I missing?

Hello, @ajitgoel, welcome to the Redwood Community forum

Your problem might be the same that took me a long time to solve (meaning that I am a RedwoodJS novice a bit longer than you are). However, my case has nothing to do with testing (did not reach that point yet) - it the issue with hydrating the database cloned from GitHub

When you create a clone of an RW application (RW is RedwoodJS alias), the state of this application is different from this identical application that you typed in from scratch - Quick Start is a good example of such mini-tutorial.

The difference between the clone and the original stems from the .gitignore file, which is used to filter out parts of your original app when you “push” it to GitHub:

Your application’s database is not persisted in Github - and such behavior gave me a lot of a hard time because I could not find any document that explains how to solve this. By using the trial and error method, I deduced that cloning a RedwoodJS app GitHub

requires one additional step after git clone ...

yarn rw prisma migrate dev

This will bring the clone to the point where the dev.db exists:

but is empty

Open question: