Need help using Yarn ("yarn redwood dev" command not working)

I am currently stuck because using the yarn redwood dev command returns the following…

I’m new to using Yarn but I’m pretty sure I have it installed correctly and the environment variable was added to PATH for it.

Has anybody else ran into this or think they can help me troubleshoot my issue?

Thanks,

Chris

I can’t see everything there, but looks like it can’t find the node modules. Have you tried just first typing yarn install to make sure all the dependencies are set up?

More docs here: https://classic.yarnpkg.com/en/docs/installing-dependencies/

2 Likes

Hmm, is the directory name really ,,,Local Dev with three commas like that? My first guess is that our path lookup stuff is blowing up on that.

Can you try creating your app in another directory, like C:\Users\Owner\test or something?

I’m pretty sure that the yarn create redwood-app ./redwoodblog command does that for me but I went ahead and tried it anyway and it made no difference. :neutral_face:

@cmarabate (sorry for the inundation right now) From your Redwood directory, could you also run yarn rw info and past the output here? Thanks!

Yes, I don’t like it either but I needed a way have it be listed at the top of my user’s directory. I normally use an exclamation mark for this but this folder has a bunch of folders that start with a period so I originally used ... but that caused issues with other things so I had to start using comma’s instead.

Is there a better way for me to make a folder always appear at the top of a directory?

Regardless, I created the following directory and started over…
C:\Users\Owner\Local Redwood Dev

But I still had the same problem, so I figured it must not like spaces and I was right because the following worked…
C:\Users\Owner\redwood-dev

Thanks a bunch!

Yes, most often underscores, e.g. _, are used for this type of manual directory sorting!