How to accept REST webhook in RedwoodJS?

(I’m a hobbyist, sorry if this is too basic)

My pet project will need to receive webhooks from 3rd party apps like zoom and slack.

How to accept a REST webhook in RedwoodJS?

• since it’s rather backend and not a page I’ll put it in api/
    *`on the other hand it’s exposed on the web and i guess i need a route for it

Could someone give me a pointer?

Sure thing!

Remember that Redwood is focused on the JAMstack, so the web site is totally static and served from a CDN—there’s no server to handle webhooks or do any traditional “server” work.

However, any functions you create in the api side will be available to the internet. If you deploy to Netlify, then a function you create at api/src/functions/webhook.js will be available to the internet at https://mysite.netlify.com/.netlify/functions/webhook

Check out the Netlify Functions documentation for how to format those: https://docs.netlify.com/functions/build-with-javascript/#format Functions are deployed on AWS Lambda so they’re subject to all the limitations there (file size, total run time, etc). The simplest one you could create would look something like:

exports.handler = function(event, context, callback) {
  callback(null, {
    statusCode: 200,
    body: "Hello, World"
  });
}

You can have the function read/write from your database by importing the PrismaClient and then writing queries. Although it isn’t written as a function, check out api/prisma/seeds.js for an example of using PrismaClient from scratch, without the Redwood graphql helpers.

If you run into any issues let me know! I struggled for a while wrapping my head around learning serverless + React + graphQL + Prisma all simultaneously so I understand how hard it can be getting started. No question is too basic. :slight_smile:

8 Likes

Thanks, that’s what I needed and more!

Will report back here how it goes and can’t wait to turn back to the more “redwood” side when working in /api and /web

1 Like