Gatsby-like implementation of SSG using a CMS

I’m fairly new to Redwood, mainly been using Gatsby recently.
I took a look at prerendering and I’m not totally sure if it meets the needs I have for this project. I would need to be able to statically generate pages using a CMS (with i18n), and also have some dynamic stuff on the frontend that would take advantage of Redwood Cells/API and auth.

Is this something that’s been done with Redwood before? Or would I have to run my own implementation of SSG and translations?

EDIT: I’ve seen a thread about using both Gatsby and Redwood for a project, but the main issue is that even the dynamic pages with Redwood would still have copy/text/forms that are generated by the CMS.

1 Like

Welcome @davidli3100! My understanding is that right now, you can prerender entirely static pages (no data fetching during build) only. They are rehydrated client-side in the browser, and you can do whatever you want with them there in terms of dynamic data fetching. What you can’t do is build for example a static page that’s a list of all the records in a collection, where you have to fetch the collection when you build the static page server(less)-side.

My understanding also is that the prerender package might also include dynamic data fetching during static generation at some point in the future. There was a message at one point that said the core team felt like it was a critical thing to do right, and won’t be in the v1 release.

1 Like

Yeah I suspected that would be the case.

I guess I’ll just download everything from the CMS as a JSON file as a pre-build script and “dynamically” fetch the data that way. Feels a little clunky but I think Redwood is worth the extra hassle

Hi @davidli3100 if you are using a CMS like Contentful or anything that has either a graphql or other api and sdk/client, you can just:

• define your SDL to match the CMS’s model
  • define queries