Chakra UI with 'redwoodjs/forms' elements

I was following chapter 3 of the redwood tutorial, that explains how to use components from ‘redwoodjs/forms’ to validate data from html forms. However, I had installed Chakra UI for styling my application. I’m a beginner so maybe I’m missing something, but I don’t see a path forward to get the benefits of validation with ‘redwoodjs/forms’ with the styling of Chakra. I’m happy to help implement a solution with some guidance.

Thanks,
Shane K

This comment seems to suggest it should be possible: Add Chakra UI integration by TimKolberger · Pull Request #3715 · redwoodjs/redwood · GitHub

I’ve never tried it myself though. So no idea how it’d work. @keith.t.elliott I know you’ve used Chakra. Any experience with integrating it with rw forms? @jacebenson you “liked” the GH issue comment. Have you tried this?

I found that it’s an “either or” situation.

Either you get redwood’s forms, OR you use react-hook-form with chakra.

You have to include react-hook-form, and pass register to the fields. I feel like my code is a mess and overly complicated, but here’s an example of how I’m making my forms.

I load up all the things I need and pass them into a “FormComponent” and on that, I set the register and the like for each form.

For me the thing that took me the longest to figure out was understanding I needed to “register” the field with react hook form.

Hi all! I’ve sent a message to the fine folks at Chakra UI to see if they’re available to take a look at this.

Additionally, chakra UI has some documentation on how to use it with react hook form. Since chakra is component-based I don’t think it is possible to use it directly with redwoods automatically registered form inputs.

1 Like