Best way to add photos to the RedwoodJS Blog?

I’m going through the second part of the RedwoodJS tutorial, but it dawned on me that a blog normally has photos. What’s the best way to add photos to the blog?

I would like to be able to edit the page, add certain photos to it, or delete at will. To me, you probably wouldn’t store the photos themselves in the database like the rest of the Comments, or Posts objects, maybe you would store a link to it?

I’m new to the Javascript APIs Markdown Stack (JAMStack), so any info on this is appreciated! It makes sense to have photos on many different types of websites (probably any site needs photos) from e-commerce to social media to tutorials like RedwoodJS’s, so this could be a ripe place to expand the main tutorial.

I’d use an image host like ImageKit, and then, as you say, store the url in the database

1 Like

@lancelot you just hit my “sweet spot” as adding photos to a blog was the reason I discovered RWJS. My long-time dream is to create a very sophisticated application of the type “family genealogical tree” mixed with blog-like content. I plan to use a self-hosted ghost blog and discourse forum, integrated via the RWJS based application. The question of where to maintain images was on my mind for a long time until I discovered cloudinary - see Build a Gatsby Photo Gallery with Strapi and Cloudinary for some ideas how can do that. Note that my plans ar more ambitious as my ancestors can be traced back to the late 15-th century :grinning:.

1 Like

P.S. Upon a closer examination of imagekit.io, I am not so sure that I will not change my current plan (thanks @Tobbe)

1 Like

We have the blog as more complete sample repo and it includes image uploading. We used Filestack: GitHub - redwoodjs/example-blog: Example Blog app written with Redwood

It’s probably a couple of versions behind and could use an update!

We’ve also got a cookbook recipe just for file uploads: Cookbook - File Uploads : RedwoodJS Docs

1 Like