Scaffold 1:n relations

Just wanted to say congrats to this project. Looks very promising. I am doing my first steps here and have two questions. Hope you can point me to the right direction.

I played around with 1:n and m:n relations. The latter was a bit of a pain to get running btw. But lets get back to 1:n. Is scaffolding supported like with a drop down on the N side?

Then i have some issues to get intellisense working (with webstorn). I dont have any support in the seed.js on PrismaClient. Of course i am quite new to Prisma, so this might be as well a knowledge issue on my side. My ORM background is more Java/JPA related. So this type safety is always tricky. I already added TS support for my RW project. So do you guys have any hints for on this one?

One more thing… the seed is only run with the CLI command or is it run generally on starting the dev server?

Thanks.
marc

1 Like

Welcome!

A scaffold with a relation will simply show as a text box where you can enter the ID of the related record, no dropdown. Adding a dropdown can result in severe performance issues (imagine a lookup of 1,000 records). Which could be mitigated with something like a typeahead search, but that’s just more and more complexity that needs to be maintained by both us and the developer using the framework. Those of us that worked on scaffolds came from a Rails background and in our experience, scaffolds are used less and less as apps get bigger and the dev develops more experience with the framework, so we didn’t want to put too much effort into building a complete admin-backend solution. There are some projects out there for this, though!

I can’t speak to intellisense support, sorry!