Modifiable Files in RedwoodJS

Hi,

I’m new to RedwoodJS so have some notions to make clear.

Based on schema.prisma file, we can generate sdls, services, pages by running generate scaffold command.

If I need to use a custom Query or Mutation in Cells of Web, I do modify relevant sdl, services, api/types/graphql.d.ts files.

Is this normally a good practise?
I assume when we destroy sdls and services and regenerate them, all modifications will get reverted?

Please let me know which files I need to touch when I need to use custom queries or mutations, etc.

Thanks.

Hi @pulanski - great question.

I tend to keep the generated SDL and services intact so that I can regenerate at any time with piggy losing any custom types or code I wrote.

I then make my own SDL and service for custom work — so if I had a myPosts query I may put that in a MyPosts sdl and myPosts service or in a PostsManager sdl and service.

The GraphQL handler merges all sdl and services into a single schema so keeping them separate is perfectly fine and actually makes maintenance a bit easier since can make the code more specific.

Hope that helps.

1 Like

@dthyresson Thanks for your answer. That helped me a lot.

One confirmation question from my original post, is app/types/graphql.d.ts file something I can modify or it’s also a Redwood generated file?

When adding custom service functions in service files, I have experienced the need to add/modify the CustomResolvers in graphql.d.ts file. (Of course, this is in typescript project)

Here’s why I am asking if this file is auto-generated or fully-customizable file and can touch freely…

Thanks.

It is generated via yarn rw g types or yarn rw type-check.

When adding custom service functions in service files, I have experienced the need to add/modify the CustomResolvers in graphql.d.ts file. (Of course, this is in typescript project)